skip to Main Content

Shortlist announced for 2012 Victorian Indigenous Art Awards

Twenty artists are in the running for prizes totaling more than $50,000 as part of the Victorian Government’s 2012 Victorian Indigenous Art Awards.

The awards, now in their seventh year, profile the diversity of Indigenous arts practice in Victoria and showcase the uniqueness of south-east Australian Aboriginal art.

Premier and Minister for the Arts Ted Baillieu said the Victorian Indigenous Art Awards played an important role in celebrating and promoting the work of the State’s Indigenous artists and our unique Koorie culture.

“There are many voices and many generations of Indigenous artists in Victoria working to uphold traditions and to express their culture in new and distinct ways,” Mr Baillieu said.

“The shortlisted artists work across a variety of mediums, from traditional painting and weaving techniques to photography, sculpture, video and street art.”
Mr Baillieu said the 27 shortlisted works were selected from 132 entries for this year’s awards.

The awards, which give prizes across five categories, are open to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists living in Victoria.  This year’s finalists include both regional and metropolitan artists, past winners and several who have not been shortlisted before. Seven of the shortlisted artists have two artworks on the shortlist.

The finalists were selected by an expert judging panel comprising Dr Treahna Hamm, an Aboriginal artist; Clinton Nain, a Torres Strait Islander artist; and Jason Smith, Director of Heide Museum of Art.

The winners of the 2012 Victorian Indigenous Art Awards will be announced on 9 March 2012 and fortyfivedownstairs is proud to host the finalist exhibition, open to the public from 10 to 31 March 2012.

We are delighted to announce the finalists in the Victorian Indigenous Art Awards 2012:

Paola Balla – Footscray (two works)
Katen Boy
Sacred Ibis

Trevor Turbo Brown – Brunswick (two works)
Owl Dreaming
Every Dog Have Their Day

Megan Cadd – Doncaster East
The Couch

Teddy Chessels – Preston
The Lone Canoe

Jody Croft – Swan Hill
Rainbow Energy

Katrina Doolan – Mildura
Babies Are Our Future

Gwendoline Garoni – Reservoir
Regrowth in my Tribal Country

Daniel King – Fitzroy (two works)
Sports Star

Jason B King – Sale
Agrotis Infusia

Brian Martin – Seddon (two works)
Methexical Countryscape: Wurundjeri #2
Methexical Countryside: Wiradjuri #2

Glenda Nicholls – Northcote
Ochre Net

Steaphan Paton – Fitzroy North
My Bullock (pictured)

Simon Penrose –  California Gully
Eyes Are The Windows To The Soul

Eva Ponting – Shepparton
Turtle Spirit Dreaming

Wayne Qilliam – Point Cook
Guided by Spirits

Reko Rennie – South Melbourne
Message Stick (Gold)

Dallas Scott – Pakenham (two works)
Storyteller Fisherman
Smoke Signal

Lyn Warren – California Gully

Gloria Whalan – Yallourn (two works)
Guulaangga The Frog
A Night of Remembrance

Naretha Williams – Coburg (two works)
Self Portrait 1 – SLIP Series
Self Portrait 3 – SLIP Series

Back To Top